Programas en EE.UU.

International Spanish Academies

The International Spanish Academies (ISAs) are schools spanning all grade levels from Pre-K through 12, known for their prestige and commitment to the language and culture of Spain. These schools implement content based programs using Content and Language Integrated (CLIL) methodology in Spanish within immersion, dual or bilingual programs. A Memorandum of Understanding is signed by the Spanish Ministry of Education and Culture and either the State, school district or school where the importance that the English and Spanish languages carry as means of communication between individuals as well as countries is recognized, as well as the valuable role they play in the exchange of ideas in the fields of economy, science and culture. Both parties are driven by a mutual desire to strengthen ties between the citizens of their respective territories and to cooperate in the efforts that both parties are exerting to design the educational model of this new millennium, where interculturalism is and will continue to be an essential element.

The ISA program is an educational initiative promoted by the Spanish Education Office in the United States and Canada in collaboration with American educational authorities and administrations.

What schools can become ISA schools?

U.S. and Canadian K-12 schools which are implementing a high quality dual language/bilingual English-Spanish program.

ISA schools have access to the following resources:

  • Highly-qualified Spanish Visiting Teachers
  • Preferential assignment of Language and Culture Assistants in ISA schools
  • Cultural activities for ISA students
  • Professional development
  • Grants awarded for professional development summer courses in Spain for teachers/administrators
  • DELE language certification exams and free teacher training in exam testing
  • E-twinning with Spanish schools
  • Online classroom materials


Contact us:

Standarized Tests that Certify Spanish Language Level

Diplomas in Spanish as a Foreign Language (DELE)

The Diplomas in Spanish as a Foreign Language (DELE), granted by Instituto Cervantes on behalf of the Ministry of Education of Spain, are official certificates that manifest the degree of competence and mastery of the Spanish language. The DELE examinations have been designed following the guidelines of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages of the Council of Europe. Accordingly, there are six levels of competence: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2, providing for all the different variants of the Spanish language. Discounts are offered to schools that be are part of the ISA network.

These standardized tests measure Spanish language ability of non-native speakers. In times of global communities and economic changes, employers seek individuals who possess the highest credentials and skills. Having a DELE certificate can be a big advantage in a world where competition increases. In addition, the possibility of international exchanges is highly valued at multinational companies that do business all over the world.